Friday , October 28 2016
Home / News / National News / Mr. Mamnoon Hussain selected president of Pakistan

Mr. Mamnoon Hussain selected president of Pakistan

Mamnoon Hussain President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

Mr. Mamnoon Hussain selected president of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Mamnoon Hussain Selected President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

According to unofficial Electoral College results, Hussain secured 433 Electoral College votes from Parliament, Punjab, Sindh, Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa assemblies, while his opponent PTI candidate Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmed secured 78 votes.The official results will be announced by the Chief Election Commissioner later this evening.

According to the breakup of votes, Mamnoon Hussain clinched 277 votes from Parliament; 60 from Punjab Assembly, 25 from Sindh Assembly; 21 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and; 55 from Balochistan Assembly.

Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmed clinched 34 votes from Parliament; 5 from Punjab Assembly; 2 from Sindh Assembly; 36 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly and 01 from Balochistan Assembly.

Mamnoon Hussain born 2 March 1940 in Agra India Mamnoon Hussain is a senior figure of PML(N) from Sindh, Pakistan. Prior to that, he also tenured as the 27th Governor of Sindh for a very short period when his appointment was dismissed by a military coup d’état in 1999. Mamnoon Hussain is a textile businessman, senior figure of Pakistan Muslim League.

He has done MBA from the prestigious Institute of Business Administration (IBA) Karachi as well as Darse Nizami course. Mamnoon Hussain originally hails from Agra (India).

Mamnoon Hussain’s group has a lot of say in the politics of the Karachi chamber and Gymkhana where it has been contesting their elections, winning and losing. Once he was also president of the Karachi chamber. He has a good say in a set of Karachi-based businessmen.

Mamnoon Hussain has his textile business and office in Allahwali Market Karachi.He was seen actively involved in the PML-N since 1993 when Nawaz Sharif was in the opposition.

Political career

Mamnoon Hussain started his politics as a Muslim Leaguer in 1969.

At the time, he was made joint secretary of the Karachi chapter of the League when former minister of state for foreign affairs Zain Noorani was its president.

Before Mamnoon Hussain was appointed governor of Sindh by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in 1999 to serve in this position for less than six months, he worked as advisor to the provincial chief minister (Liaquat Ali Jatoi) for an insignificant portfolio.

After the promulgation of military rule in October 1999, Mamnoon Hussain firmly stood with Nawaz Sharif when multitudes of PML-N leaders simply abandoned their party.

During all this period starting in 1993, Mamnoon Hussain has held different positions in the Sindh branch of the party. However, he would leave the PML-N post after his election as president. His son holds a senior executive post in the Citibank.

Mamnoon Hussain Selected 12th President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan

List of Pakistani Presidents with tenures:

1. Iskander Mirza (23 March 1956 to 27 October 1958)

2. Ayub Khan (27 October 1958 to 25 March 1969) (two terms)

3. Yahya Khan (25 March 1969 to 20 December 1971)

4. Zulfikar Ali Bhutto (20 December 1971 to 13 August 1973)

5. Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry (14 August 1973 to 16 September 1978)

6. Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq (16 September 1978 to 17 August 1988)

7. Ghulam Ishaq Khan (17 August 1988 to 18 July 1993)

8. Farooq Leghari (14 November 1993 to 2 December 1997)

9. Muhammad Rafiq Tarar (1 January 1998 to 20 June 2001)

10. Pervez Musharraf (20 June 2001 to 18 August 2008) (two terms)

11. Asif Ali Zardari (9 September 2008) (Incumbent)

12. Mamnoon Hussain selected now