Thursday , October 27 2016
Home / Sports / Lahore Lions win National T20 Cup

Lahore Lions win National T20 Cup

Lahore Lions win National T20 Cup

National T20 skipper Muhammad Hafiz led Lahore Lions’ team has clinched National T20 Cup after beating Faisalabad Wolves by 33 runs in final match.Lahore Lions gained the National T-20 cricket title after two years defeating Faisalabad Wolves by 33 runs in the final here on Sunday under lights at Gadaffi stadium.


A full house watched the final. Punjab Governor Sardar Latif Khan Khosa was the chief guest on the occasion and wintessed the match with keen interest.


Batted first, Lahore Lions led by National T20 captain Mohammad Hafeez, scored 154 runs for the loss of seven wickets in the allotted 20 overs. In reply, Faislaabad Wolves made 121 for 8 in 20 overs. Openers Ahmed Shahzad and Nasir Jamshed stared Lions innings in a good manner as they collected 44 runs for the first-wicket partnership. Asad Ali of Wolves took the first wicket for his team when he dismissed Shahzad at 29.


Hafeez joined Nasir and both added 51 runs. Imran Khalid broke the second-wicket partnership when he bowled out Nasir on 42 runs. In the very next over, Hafeez also lost his wicket on 22 runs. Akmal brothers were the other two batsmen, who reached double figures with 20 and 18 runs.


Eshan Adil once again proved that he is an emerging bowler and has potential to make his berth in national squad in near future as he chipped in with three wickets for 23 runs while Asad Ali took two and Imran Khalid and Samiullah one wicket each.


Faisalabad Wolves reply was not so good as they lost their first wicket at the score of 11 runs when Abdul Razzaq claimed his first wicket in 2.3 over. In the very next over, Asif Ali was run out by Adnan Rasool at the score of 7. Khurram Shahzad also lost his wicket in the next over. Waqas Ali collected 14-ball 25 runs with the help of four fours and one six.


Lions bowlers proved too hot for Wolves and kept on dismissing its batsmen. Only Misbah resisted well and scored 37-ball 37 runs with two fours. Hafeez was best wicket getter with four wickets for 11 runs while Razzaq bagged two and Zaiul Haq one.


Hafeez of Lahore Lions was declared player of the final match while Ahmed Shahzad of Lahore Lions was the best batsman, Asad Ali of Faisalabad Wolves the best bowler, Farrukh Shahzad of Wolves the best fielder, Yasir Arafat of Rams, Imran Ullah Aslam of Stags and Umer Akmal of Lions were named the best fielder of the event while Kamran Akmal of Lions and Gulraiz Sadaf of Multan Tigers were declared the best wicketkeeper jointly.


Later the Punjab Governor gave away the medals and trophies to the players and officials of both the teams.