Thursday , October 27 2016
Home / Sports / India wins Men, women Kabaddi World Cup2012

India wins Men, women Kabaddi World Cup2012

Kabaddi World Cup2012

Indiawins Men’s Kabaddi World Cup2012

HostsIndialifted the winner’s title in the men’s and women’s section of the second World Cup Kabaddi tournament inLudhiana. TheIndiamen team easily beat theCanadaside 59-25 in the final match played at the Guru Nanak Dev stadium inLudhianaon late Sunday.Indiawas the winner of  the inaugural edition of the World Cup Kabaddi 2010 also.

The winners were given a cheque of Rs. 2 crore while runners-upCanadagot a prize money of Rs. 1 crore. The total prize money in the tournament was Rs.4.11 crore for the 14 men’s and four women’s participating teams.

NeighbouringPakistan, which was the runners-up in the first edition of the Kabaddi tournament in 2010 and was expected to reach the finals

World Cup 2012


Indiaare crowned the Men’s Kabaddi World Cup champions after beatingPakistan59-22. Retaining the men’s title of the Pearls Kabaddi World Cup for the third time.India’s Gagandeep Singh was the Best Raider and Eakm Hathur was the Best Stopper in this riveting match. The Men’s Kabaddi World Cup final took place on Saturday, 15th December 2012 at the Guru Nanak Stadium inLudhiana,Punjab,India.

For the third consecutive time,Indiawere the victors winningPakistancomfortably with a score of 59 versusPakistan’s 22.

The tournament started on 1st December 2012 and was played at 13 venues across Punjab including, Yadvindra Public School Stadium (Patiala), Nehru Stadium (Rupnagar), Sports Stadium (Chohla Sahib, Tarn Taran), Government College Stadium (Gurdaspur), Sports Stadium (Bathinda) and Guru Gobind Singh Stadium (Jalandhar).

The 16 teams that particpated were Afghanistan, Argentina, Canada, Denmark, England, India, Iran, Italy, Kenya, Norway, Pakistan, Scotland, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, United States and New Zealand.

The attendance of fans for the final was so overwhelming such that the overcrowded stadium needed police to do a lathi charge to get the crowds under control especially around gates 5 and 7 of the stadium.

Entertainment before the match started was provided by Bollywood singer Sukhwinder Singh, Punjabi singer Raja Bath who promoted an anti-drugs message and a dazzling fire show. Poet Padmashree Surjit Pattar won hearts with his poem on strengthening Indo-Pak relations. The host for the game was Punjaban star Satwinder Satti who encouraged everyone to promote the game.

The final ceremony featured Bollywood superstars Akshay Kumar and Katrina Kaif, and Punjabi singer Diljit Dosanjh together with many other performances.

Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal met the players and formally inaugurated the match. Deputy Chief Minister Sukhbir SinghBadal,PakistanPunjab Assembly Deputy Speaker RanaMasood Ahmed,PakistanPunjab Law Minister Rana Sanaullha andPakistanMP Sardar Malik also interacted with the players.

With an intent to promote the game as much as possible, Sukhbir Singh Badal announced an increase in the prize money for the Women’s Kabbadi World Cup from Rs.51 lakh to Rs.1 crore from next year.

IndiaandPakistanmade it to the final with relative ease in the tournament. In the first semi-final,PakistandefeatedCanadascoring a reputable 53-27 and then in the second,IndiathrashedIran72-23.

Incidentally,Canadahad beatenPakistanin the semis in the 2011 Men’s Kabbadi World Cup.

The 2012 final gaveIndiathe chance to have revenge after they lost toPakistanin the 2012 Asian Kabaddi Championship inPakistan, and conversely, it gavePakistanthe opportunity to beatIndiafor the first time on Indian soil.

Before, the game, Indian captain Sukhbir Singh Sarawan said: “We are confident of winning the trophy. We have prepared well for the World Cup.”

Pakistancaptain and stopper Javed said: “We have come toIndiawell prepared. We have a good attacking and strong defence (stoppers) line. We have learnt from the past mistakes and we are confident that we will not repeat them. During the coaching camp inIslamabad, we had work on our shortcomings. We now have a balanced and strong team.”

However,Pakistan’s strategy was not strong enough asIndiatook the game from the start and gained an initial lead of 9-0.

Pakistanthen stepped up and claimed some points back. But by the end of the first half the score wasIndia34 andPakistan9, showingIndia’s domination of the game inPunjab.

India’s raider Gagandeep Singh Gaggi Kheeranwali scored 10 points, Gurlal Ghanaur scored 8, Manminder Singh Sran score 8 and Sukhbir Sarawan took 7 points. WhereasIndia’s stoppers Ekam Hathur, Balbir Pala and Gurwinder Kahlwan scored 10, 7 and 4 points respectively.

Pakistan’s raider Safeeq Butt scored 5 points and Mohammad Imran scored 3 points while the Pakistani stopper Sujad Gujjar scored 5 points.

It was a rewarding moment for Gagandeep Singh Gaggi Kheeranwali and Eakam Hathur as they both were awarded Preet Tractors as a prize after being nominated as the Best Raider and Best Stopper in the final of the World Kabaddi tournament.

For the Indian women’s team, Priyanka Devi was given the title of the Best Raider and Jatinder Kaur was declared Best Stopper. Both the female players were awarded a Honda motor cycle each worth Rs.55,000.

For winning the World Cup title in Kabaddi, India got prize money worth Rs.2 crore for winning and Pakistan took home Rs.1 crore.Canadawho came third in the tournament were awarded Rs.51 Lakh.

Before the commencement of the final match between India and Pakistan, the chief minister honoured Olympians Baljeet Dhillon, Varinder Singh, Sanjeev Kumar (all hockey players), Manjeet Kaur and Brigadier Labh Singh (both athletes), Dronachariya Awardee Sukhchain Cheema and Arjuna Awardee Balwinder Singh Fidda.

The domination of the game gaveIndiaan easy win overPakistanfor the Kabaddi final of 2012. Kabaddi is now being recognised more and more as a well-known contact sport and hopefully, events like these will promote this game further for it to be played formally in other countries.